Paper explainer · preprint · 3 Nov 2026
Researchers report one 27 billion setting model jumps from 6.6 to 43.9 on a hard test once it may type commands. Here is what that costs, and what it does not prove yet.
vizmaya desk · 3 November 2026
The puzzle
Both numbers are the authors' own report. Both come from the same 27 billion setting model, called CUA-Master. The only change is what it is allowed to do.
So what is a terminal doing that a mouse cannot?
From first principles
It looks at a screenshot. It decides where to click or what to type. Then it looks again. It repeats until the job is done.
Researchers call this a computer-use agent. Think of a new office assistant who can only see the screen and has to do everything with a mouse.
A mouse is slow for some jobs. Renaming 200 files by clicking is painful. A person who knows one typed command does it in a second. This paper asks what happens when the AI gets that same shortcut.
The claim
That is the authors' score for CUA-Master-27B on OSWorld Verified. It is a test of 361 everyday computer jobs, such as office work, settings and file tasks (the paper's Table 4). Higher is better.
In plain terms: on the average job, it gets about four fifths of the points. It does this with a screen-only setup, no terminal.
Is 80.2 a big deal? Depends who is standing next to it.
In context
Six models score higher, including a same-size rival from another team, Qwen-3.8-27B, at 81.2. The authors call this "comparable". That is a fair word for one point.
If it is only seventh here, why is anyone writing about it?
The twist
Two tests mix screen work and command work. On these, the mouse alone is weak. The terminal alone is weak too. Together they are far better than the sum would suggest.
Better and shorter? How does a terminal save steps?
Show, don't tell
The paper shows three jobs where it switched back and forth. The terminal does the bulk work, such as reading files and checking answers in one go. The screen does what needs eyes, such as filling a web form or inspecting a brain scan.
Three hand-picked examples show it can happen. They do not show how often it happens.
Fine, but where did it learn this? Nobody wrote 127,000 lessons by hand.
Where the lessons come from
People post screen recordings that show how to use software. The team collected them for more than 650 apps, across 8 areas of work and life.
The result is 127,000 practice jobs: 115,000 to copy, and 12,000 for trial and error with a scorer. The team then repeated the loop, using what the model got wrong to choose the next batch (the paper's Sec 2.2 and App B).
Step 5 sounds small. Is it?
The quiet trick
Long jobs fail somewhere in the middle. If you restart every time, you almost never finish. If you rewind to the last good step, you keep most of the work.
More runs that finish means more good lessons. And more lessons means more of what?
Lens: what it costs
Training took 128 H200 chips, which draw at most 0.7 kW each (NVIDIA). That is about 90 kW for the chips alone, with no cooling or network counted. The paper does not state FLOP, GPU-hours or dollars, so no total can be checked.
The authors name the real costs themselves: the virtual computer fleet, trajectory collection, and a large model to label videos. Stronger labelers gave bigger gains (Fig 9, App E). The saving shows up at use: a model this size runs on one 8-chip server.
If it is that cheap, what has to be true for it to matter?
Beside it
The closest paper in AI Daily's pool is Self-Credit (2610.28388, 20 October 2026). It teaches web-search agents which step in a long run deserved the reward. The authors report a 37.0 point gain on a test called BrowseComp-Plus.
The overlap is the last stage of training. Both use trial and error with a scorer. The difference is where the lessons come from. Self-Credit improves how credit is shared inside the model's own tries. CUA-Master brings in new lessons from outside, in the form of tutorial videos. CUA-Master does not cite Self-Credit.
Both are preprints. Neither has been repeated by anyone else.
What it would take
It is two days old. Every score in it is the authors' own, from one run each. Here is what would settle it.
Go further
17 claims checked. 14 verified, 11 of those as claims from the one preprint. 1 contested (release status). 1 contradicted (affiliations in AI Daily's early reading were wrong; the paper lists CUHK, THU, HKUST(GZ) and JD). 1 unverified (a figure of about 10^24 FLOP, which the paper does not state and which does not fit a 128 chip run).
Not found: training FLOP, GPU-hours or dollars; a contamination check; error bars; a peer-reviewed version. OpenAlex has no record yet, so no citation count.
vizmaya desk · 3 November 2026 · Every score in this story is from a preprint and is reported as the authors' claim.